Baroque Pop Anthology – 3 Days Left!

baroquepopcover

I was so stoked to be involved in this anthology. Taking a song and creating a story inspired by it is a lot of fun. And Lana Del Ray has some interesting music to work with. But the writing isn’t the best part, it’s when you start to see the art roll in!

Having Ashley St. Lawrence illustrate Summertime Sadness was so cool! I was already a fan of her work. Both Comare and Épilogue (which is available on Comixology) were fantastic and I couldn’t wait to see her take on the characters in my story.

The story I proposed was a James Bond opening style sequence, lots of action, some drama, and a cool twist. Ashley crafted a suave, swarthy pseudo-Bond and a gorgeous and possibly dangerous lady in red.

summertimesadnesscard

It was also my first project where I had direct contact with a letterer, Scott Ewen is a total pro, both he and Ashley were more than willing to discuss the visualizations and the back and forth was so amazing, believe me when I say it comics can be a really great collaborative process.

So I love the story we contributed to this rockin’ anthology, and the more things I see from the rest of the book reinforces that this is a book you want to read.

The Kickstarter is ending, and the book won’t be available again until C2E2 in April (I think) so why not head over to the kickstarter and get your hands on a copy!

And feel free to let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

